Public Holidays NSW, PublicHolidaysNSW.com.au

Public Holidays NSW

After a hard week’s work don’t you feel the need for an extended weekend every now and then? A public holiday long weekend is the perfect way to unwind you from all the stress that has been built up over the week. You can utilize one of the public holidays NSW 2013 by going on a short holiday or even spending some time at home relaxing and enjoying with your family.

This site  will show information about Public holidays NSW  2013 dates that fall throughout the calendar year. Together with detail about special occasion holidays that are applicable in each state or territory within Australia.

Public Holidays NSW

State 2013 2014
New Year’s Day All Tue, 1 Jan Wed, 1 Jan
Australia Day All Sat, 26 Jan Sun, 26 Jan
Australia Day Replacement All Mon, 28 Jan Mon, 27 Jan
Labour Day WA Mon, 4 Mar Mon, 3 Mar
Adelaide Cup Day SA Mon, 11 Mar Mon, 10 Mar
Labour Day VIC Mon, 11 Mar Mon, 10 Mar
Eight Hour Day TAS Mon, 11 Mar Mon, 10 Mar
Canberra Day ACT Mon, 11 Mar Mon, 10 Mar
Easter – Good Friday All Fri, 29 Mar Fri, 18 Apr
Easter Monday All Mon, 1 Apr Mon, 21 Apr
ANZAC Day All Thu, 25 Apr Fri, 25 Apr
May Day NT Mon, 6 May Mon, 5 May
Western Australia Day WA Mon, 3 Jun Mon, 2 Jun
Queen’s Birthday All except WA Mon, 10 Jun Mon, 9 Jun
Bank Holiday
(not a pub hol)
NSW & ACT Mon, 5 Aug Mon, 4 Aug
Royal Queensland Show QLD (Brisbane) Wed, 14 Aug Wed, 13 Aug
Queen’s Birthday WA Mon, 30 Sep Mon, 29 Sep
Family & Community Day ACT Mon, 30 Sep Mon, 29 Sep
Labour Day QLD, NSW,
ACT & SA
Mon, 7 Oct Mon, 6 Oct
Melbourne Cup Day VIC Tue, 5 Nov Tue, 4 Nov
Christmas Day All Wed, 25 Dec Thu, 25 Dec
Boxing Day All Thu, 26 Dec Fri, 26 Dec
New Year's Eve Fireworks - Public Holidays NSW

New Year’s Eve Fireworks – Public Holidays NSW

So how many Public holidays do you get in New South Wales. Well it’s not a big list and you would be disappointed if you have Indian or Asian roots. You even don’t have a Halloween or the thanksgiving like in the United States.

Christmas and Easter as the two main festive times for the Australians and that’s where most public holidays are. Apart from this you have Public holidays for New Year and of course a big one for Australia’s national day which falls on the 26th of January.

This day is celebrated in recognition of the arrival of the first group of 11 ships that came from England to establish a colony in Australia. The celebrations are lavish and include Australia Day Honours, Citizenship ceremonies, Australian of the Year award and other concerts and carnivals.

School holidays in each state and territory, in a lot of cases, are closely aligned with public holidays that fall throughout the calendar year.

The Other Big national holiday is the Anzac Day, which falls on the 25th of April. This day is a day of national pride and is celebrated in commemoration and recognition of the contribution of Australian war heroes. The word ANZAC is an acronym for Australian and New Zealand Army Corps. This has been celebrated every year after the Anzac Day Act.

The Easter holidays are also in April and Good Friday is celebrated on the first Friday after the full moon that falls after 21st March. These public holidays NSW generally fall within the end of first term school holidays.

Being a commonwealth country still following British Monarchy Australia observes a national holiday for the Queen’s Official Birthday. This is celebrated on the Second Monday of June and the celebrated date is listed in Public holidays NSW.

After this we have the Bank Holiday. This falls on the First Monday of August. It is not a statewide holiday and affects mainly bank employees. All Banks and certain financial Institutions are required to be closed on this day.

New South Wales residents also get a holiday on the Labour Day as part of Public holidays NSW. This day celebrates the Australian Labour movement and is celebrated on different days across various states. In New South Wales it is observed on the First Monday of October.

Lastly we have the Christmas Holidays which typically are on the 25th and 26th of December, which is the Boxing Day. In NSW as per official policy workers are entitled to an additional holiday on the following Week should these one of these two days fall on a weekend. Thereby ensuring you get a long weekend to celebrate Christmas with your family and relatives.
In all you get 10 National Holidays in NSW while these are not much they do provide you an excellent opportunity to recharge yourself either by catching up on shopping or go the nearby out-of-town areas and enjoy the freshness of the Blue Mountains. So start planning for your next Public Holidays NSW weekend.

Special occasions events are also highlighted in the Australian public holiday listing such as Mothers day, Fathers day, Valentines day, St Patricks day and not forgetting to mention the AFL grand final and the NRL Grand final which generally take place in the first week of October